KELLER CHL .COM
|To contact us call:
Summary of The Concealed Handgun License Process
$100.00 for new or $70 for renewal fee includes all classroom materials and handouts and range fees, it does NOT include the fingerprinting ($9.95) you will need
two passport photos (CVS or Walgreens) (your Driver's License photo can now be used) or any State of Texas Fees ($140 for New CHL and $70 for renewal
CHL). Recent changes for renewals, you will no longer have to have new fingerprinting or pictures taken under most circumstances.
The DPS is in the process of eliminating the paper applications and paper fingerprinting. They have streamlined the process online to receive your license.
Get started now and apply online prior to coming to class. The DPS staff in Austin estimates using the online application process expedites getting your license
roughly in half. This new method for processing your application speeds up the background check for both the DPS and the FBI as paper applications are being
DPS Online Application
Once you have completed your application online it will ask you to make an appointment for Electronic Fingerprints with L1 Identity Services, they charge $9.95
for the printing and you will need your Drivers License for identification purposes. Once they take your fingerprints they will send them to Texas DPS
electronically. This greatly reduces the chance of you having to retake your fingerprints.
The State of Texas requires that you receive 10 hours of training, including range time and testing (4 hours for renewals). We believe we pack more
useful information into that 10 hours than the other guys. You'll be treated to a professionally prepared multimedia presentation, complete with video, photos
and graphics. Discussion and questions are always encouraged. We all learn from the experiences of one another, and we're eager to hear your story.
In the classroom, we will cover the state-required materials, plus additional information we believe is crucial to carry a concealed weapon:
Basic Firearms Safety, Training, Safe Handling and Storage
Non-Violent Dispute Resolution
Use of Force
Texas Concealed Handgun Laws
Shoot/Don't Shoot Scenarios
Grip and Stance
Choosing a weapon
Concealed Carry Holsters and options
Range qualification usually takes between one and two hours, depending on class size. One Day classes typically begin at 8am and complete
around 6pm. Two Day classes are typically held on consecutive evenings of approximately 5 hours each, including range time. Renewal
classes are typically scheduled on Saturday afternoons. See our Class Schedule or call to find a time and date that is best for you. When the
class is over, you'll have everything you'll need to send your packet off to Texas DPS.
For most people, the range qualification is the most intimidating part of getting their CHL.The Texas CHL Qualification expects you to know how to operate your
weapon safely and proficiently, but we will be happy to help you with your weapon and shooting technique. However, any unsafe behavior, such as pointing your
loaded or unloaded weapon at your instructor or fellow student, will likely result in disqualification.
If you feel uncomfortable with your skill level or just feel like you'd like a leg up before you invest in the full course, we offer a Pre-CHL class. Offered as either a
group and private lesson, the Pre-CHL will prepare you for the shooting portion of the CHL qualification. We'll help you with handgun safety, grip, stance, shooting
technique, and run you through a mock qualification so you'll know just what to expect.
|We encourage You to pre-register with DPS before taking your class., bring your packet to class. Renewals MUST
pre-register and bring their packet to the class.
|Private Classes for Concealed
Need a private class for your family,
friends, church, or co-workers?
We will come to your location, or
arrange for a location anywhere in the
Texas CHL Class at your location is
$150 per student.
Payment of the minimum fee is
required at least 2 weeks in advance to
hold your date.
For more information,
firstname.lastname@example.org or call:
Note: Prices do not include licensing fees paid directly to the State of Texas or to L1 for
fingerprinting. Cancellations must be received at least 48 hours prior the start of your
scheduled class in order to receive a full refund. Unfortunately, we cannot refund your
class fee if you do not pass. Due to the obvious dangers present in this business, Keller
CHL reserves the right to refuse training or qualification to anyone for any reason.